top of page
  • Writer's pictureGinglesnuff

Bleeding Heart restaurant, 4th April

I have been keen on returning to the Bleeding Heart since a farewell work dinner there in 2007. It made that much of an impression.

Partly this is because I love the morbid story associated with its name whereby a woman is murdered, found torn limb from limb with her heart still bleeding in the square. Delicious.

But also because I liked the food, and I thought the setting was ambient and romantic. And so, I returned for a romantic meal, the two of us sitting in the basement of the restaurant proper in a little enclave.

It was hard to choose from all the dishes, but as it was a treat, I went for the steak. My paramour ordered, of all things, liver! I had a taste but was not converted, though I'm sure they did a very good job of it.

Starters were good - mine came with a black pudding crumble. I couldn't say I liked black pudding and I still can't but it didn't dent how much I liked the rest of the dish.

Richard's smoked salmon was delicate and delicious - best smoked salmon he'd ever had apparently and I think I would agree.

I couldn't stop gushing about the green beans of all things, mainly because they were completely soaked in butter which makes any vegetable amazing.

I probably shouldn't have had dessert - I was too full anyway, and it didn't live up to the rest of the meal. I had the apple tarte tatin but it wasn't as stodgy as I hoped, the pastry being like filo pastry - too dry and flaky for its topping.

The heart macaron ordered by Richard certainly made a good picture though so no regrets there.

3 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page