top of page
  • Ginglesnuff

Yosma/Ichibuns, August

As part of my birthday week, I feasted. First up was Yosma, a Turkish place in Marylebone, a little further afield than the spate of places on Edgeware Road.

Walking past it, I don't think you'd necessarily be tempted inside - it looks far more basic than it really is. Inside it is spacious, reminding me of a city plaza round which people eat and drink on terraces.

The food was pretty good too - some thick hummus and two rounds of bread to make sure you scoop it all up with, and then I had a lamb iskendar which collapsed at the slightest prodding from my fork, and my friend had the chicken which was a decent rival to my lamb.

And then the next night I went to Ichibuns which had a totally different vibe. This place is a chain in the making if ever I saw one. It's semi-fast food - a bit like Wahaca or Byron, but Japanese diner style. So there's sushi and sashimi but also steamed buns and burgers. We had a tuna sushi taco (seaweed forms the shell) then dynamite popcorn shrimp - not as exciting as the name implies but nice enough, and then the wagyu buns - the beef inside dry therefore disappointing. You needed the sauce.

I had a fish burger which was nice enough but the other flavours rather masked the fishiness and the texture was a bit soft for a burger. I expected more crunchiness from the panko batter.

The place is fun, and lively and the food isn't *bad*, it's just not particularly *good* either.

9 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Emerge festival, 28th September

Billed as ‘Glastonbury meets Night at the Museum’ and promising to go until the early hours of the morning, Emerge was an exciting prospect, thought one which I was wary about in terms of execution. T

bottom of page